Art Journal #12 – Pelican

We went to the beach one day and walked out on the pier. Along the way, I saw this pelican sitting on the pier rail. I approached with my phone in hand, prepared for the bird to fly away as soon as I got too close. I snapped several photos as I got closer to it. I was surprised when the pelican never moved. It simply stared at me as if to say, “Yeah, I’m watching you too!” I got within about a foot of the pelican when the real surprise came…he tried to steal my phone right out of my hand with his big, long beak. He actually nipped my fingers. Needless to say, I pulled back quickly, and held firmly to my phone! Cheeky pelican.

This drawing is a work in progress. I’m still not sure what the end result will be. I’m thinking maybe watercolor tints over the pencil. Has anyone else tried that? How did it turn out?

20140114-160947.jpg

Please leave a comment, I'm interested in your ideas.

